This University was opened in 1845 as one of the three Queen’s Colleges of Belfast, Galway and Cork. The College motto is “Where Finbarr Taught Let Munster Learn”. Designed by Sir Thomas Deane and Benjamin Woodward, on the lines of a typical Oxford College in England. The quadrangle is of special interest to tourists. These limestone buildings were constructed between 1847 and 1849.At present these buildings are used mainly for administrative purposes and visitor centre and is the location of the President and Vice President’s office. While the tourist can wander around the University, during the summer months guided tours are available.
The Honan Chapel, dedicated to St. Finbarr is situated in the grounds of the University, and was built in 1915/1916. Its architecture is of the Hiberno Romanesque School, modelled on the 12th century Cormac’s Chapel at Cashel, County Tipperary. The main feature is the series of 19 stained glass windows designed by Harry Clarke and Sarah Purser, an enamel decorated tabernacle, rich tapestry work and an intricate mosaic floor depicting the river of life and the Zodiac. The chapel serves the ecumenical needs of the student and academic body. It is used for choral and musical recitals and is a popular choice for graduate weddings.
The Lewis Glucksman Gallery in U.C.C. is one of Ireland’s newest art spaces, which opened in October 2004. Having been awarded the Best Public Building in Ireland by the Royal Institute of Architects in Ireland (RIAI). It houses exhibition spaces, lecture facilities, a riverside restaurant and gallery shop.
U.C.C. has a Visitor’s Centre Experience located in the heart of the campus providing information and walking tours of the college grounds. For further information or to book a tour contact 00353214901876.