Originally Church of Ireland. The church’s history can be traced back to 1270, when King Henry 3rd of England granted patronage of the church to the Bishop of Cork. In 1380, a parliament sat there to nominate a governor of Ireland. The existing church was built in 1788, after the style of London churches designed by Sir Christopher Wren. Paine built the church tower in a picturesque gothic style in 1840. Many of Cork’s early citizens were interred in the adjoining graveyard. A monument to Sir Thomas Deane, dated 1710 can be seen in a side chapel. The church was deconsecrated in 1949 and was used as a warehouse until it fell into disuse. The Cork Corporation purchased it in 1995 under the guidance of an integrated area plan for Cork’s historic centre. The repair of the building was informed by the philosophy of the ICOMOS Venice. During the restoration, much emphasis was placed on the conservation of the building fabric. The aim was to maintain the sustainable performance of the building and its architectural integrity. The church is now used as the Cork Vision Centre and it offers visitors an opportunity to appreciate a fine example of the conservation in action, and to explore Cork’s evolution from past, through present, and onwards to future development. The focal point is a detailed 1:500 scale model of Cork city. With the guidance of a morning tour, one can make informative side-trips through the heart of historic Cork. The Centre’s gallery presents an aerial view of the city in model form. The Cork Vision Centre also houses (1) Cityscope- an exhibition of restoration. (2) Cork on film. (3) Our City-Touch screen Information (4) Photo Cork! -A visual taste of Cork (5) A viewing gallery and meeting/seminar area. (6) Visiting exhibitions. The Cork Vision Centre has a very spacious interior within the ancient church walls and a restored vaulted ceiling. An elegant, modern restoration incorporating a multi-purpose gallery, and ancillary spaces. The centre is a unique venue for (1) Corporate/business receptions (2) Exhibitions (3) Conference/seminars/ lectures (4) Recitals (5) School/educational tours. Open Tuesday to Saturday 10.00 – 17.00 hrs. Small admission fee.